Wedding Planning 101: Where to Begin? Not Pinterest

You may have guessed from the title, but I’m one of maybe a handful of brides on earth who is NOT using Pinterest to plan her wedding.  Truthfully, I don’t even have a Pinterest account, nor I do fully understand how it all works.

What I do know, however, is that I cannot have it.  I understand that it’s great for finding inspiration, and there are tons of cute things on there.  I get it.  But I have a hard enough time being productive in life with just Facebook hanging over my head.  Add in another time-sucking app, and I’d never accomplish anything.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.techinasia.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/Facebook-motivational-poster.jpg

Exactly my issue.

The other reason I can’t have a Pinterest is that it’s wholly overwhelming to me.  I would “pin” probably everything on the site, and it wouldn’t  be helpful to me because then I’d be overwhelmed by the millions of things that I pinned.  It’s a vicious cycle, but it’s better if I never start.

I found StyleMePretty to be distracting and overwhelming enough, and that was all the inspiration photos that I needed in order to feel completely and entirely confused and useless.  I made my best attempts at putting together inspiration boards, but I love everything, so it was pretty hard to narrow it down.

My best attempt at an inspiration board before I gave up
My best attempt at an inspiration board before I gave up

Ultimately, I’ve given up on making an actual inspiration board or something like it, because I get too overwhelmed with the “OMG I LOVE EVERYTHING” feelings.  Maybe I’ll try again when I get a little closer to narrowing down the details, or maybe I’ll just make a “how it turned out” board later on!

Anyone else drowning in inspiration?  Am I the last bride-to-be on earth without a Pinterest?  How do you stay focused?

One thought on “Wedding Planning 101: Where to Begin? Not Pinterest

Leave a Reply

