How We Met: the Friend Zone

Who We Are

Monsieur P and I, one of our first engagement photos / Photo by Tressa McCune Photography

Now that we’ve covered some of the gritty details, and you probably have gotten a sense of who we are, let’s take it back to the beginning.  I’ll start with a story that we like to tell, the silly story of how we met.

When we started dating, I put these lyrics in my AIM profile. Yikes.

For your listening pleasure.  Yes, I’m 27 years old and I like Taylor Swift.  and Miley Cyrus.  What of it?  And now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

Monsieur P and I met in the fall of 2007, when we were both out at a club for a night of fun with our respective groups of friends.  We met when we quite literally bumped into each other.  He was walking past our table on his way to get another beer from the bar, and bumped into me from behind.  I thought he was trying to dance with me, so I danced back, and he decided that beer wasn’t so important after all. 😉

We had what felt like only a few minutes to chat before one of his friends told him that they were leaving.  Not wanting to pass up the opportunity to stay in touch with a lovely lady such as myself (okay, I may be embellishing slightly!), he asked for my number.

Now, what you should know about me at the time… I was 21, I had a boyfriend, and I was learning how to turn down guys who tried to pick me up in bars.  I’m not great at saying no, so I developed a very original not original at all method of changing the last digit of my phone number to give guys who insisted on getting my number.

Proof of the state we were in that night.  There were 4 of us girls at that table… with all those drinks.  That’s me creeping in the back.  Classy.

I thought Monsieur P seemed cool and non-threatening, and we had a great effortless banter in our conversation, so despite having a boyfriend, I decided to give him my number.  I know, naughty, naughty!  As he entered it into his small Nokia phone (embarrassing that I remember that, and embarrassing that we met in the old days before smartphones), I noticed that he entered the number wrong.  While I could have let it go, I chose to correct it for him.

We texted the entire next day, communicating mostly through stupid movie quotes, trying to outdo the other, and then stayed in touch via text and AIM (like I said, the old days).  It was just so easy to chat with him, and we liked the same goofy movies and tv shows.

Long story short, we ended up introducing each other to a lot of our friends, and merging our friend groups somewhat (a detail to remember for later!).   I put him solidly in THE FRIEND ZONE and told him that I thought of him as brother I never had… OUCH.

Friend J and I the night I met the mister
Friend J and I the night I met Monsieur P

So how did he make it from the dreaded FRIEND ZONE and become my husband-to-be, you may ask?  Well, you’ll just have to stay tuned to find out!

Are you marrying someone that you put in THE FRIEND ZONE?  Did you have a significant other when you met your future partner?  Please tell me I’m not the only naughty one!

Leave a Reply

