Three Years and Counting: Fast Forward 2 Years (BLING)

I know this is a little out of the ordinary, but I’m going to fast-forward in time a little bit from the proposal to share our biggest and latest news to date, which is most exciting to me!  Monsieur P and I celebrated our 5-year anniversary a couple of weeks ago.  How did we celebrate, you may ask – did we go snowboarding?  did we go to a concert?  did we go to a fancy dinner?  Well, no.  and maybe?  But more importantly, we celebrated our 5-year anniversary by going to pick out our wedding bands!

You may remember that one of my requirements for an engagement ring was that it be part of a set.  So… did Monsieur P deliver?  Yes, he knows better than to mess with a woman who knows what she wants!  Kidding… but seriously.  So yes, my engagement ring already had a matching band, making my decision pretty easy, but not any less exciting! EEEEEEEEEEE BLING!

For Monsieur P, I expected a slightly more grueling involved search.  Much to my (and the women in the shop’s) surprise, he had his band picked out before I could even get my order placed for my own band (which was less than 5 minutes).  And, unsurprisingly, he chose THE BAND that I would have chosen for him, had I picked it out myself.  It’s very him, trendy, yet subtly so, just tough enough, and not flashy.

I quickly approved his choice of band, but urged him to try a smaller size than the one that he had on, that he said “fit.”  Typical boy move, he thought the fact that it was on his finger was “fit” enough… I told him it needed to be snug, so I knew that puppy better not be coming off!  Not because I’m possessive, but I did want to make sure that it fit him properly.  I told him to try a smaller size, and we decided that the 9 fit snugly enough that both of us were pleased.  All in all, his decision took seriously about 5 minutes.

Monsieur P chose a Tungsten Carbide band with a flat brushed finish and smoothed edges (sorry, I’m definitely not a jeweler), similar to this one from Triton.  I, of course, ordered the matching band to my engagement ring, and assured the jeweler that I would be back this time next year to get my anniversary band for the other side.  Sorry I’m not sorry, ya’ll.  I want my bling, and I like symmetry.  Oh wells!

Curious how my rings look together?  The sample ring is a 6, and I’m a 5, so the band doesn’t line up perfectly with my engagement ring, but they’ll lay smoothly against each other when I have the band in my size, obviously.

Image
Personal photo edited with Photo Grid app, complete with cats border.

I seriously CANNOT WAIT to wear these rings every day.  Not just for the bling (though seriously, BLING!), but for what they mean, too.  (Plus, I just want to jump Monsieur P with that ring on his finger, oh boy!)  I’m so excited that we’ve finally ordered our bands, and it feels so much more real just knowing they’re on their way!

Were you concerned about sizing for your partner’s ring?  Do your rings match, or are you mixing metals?  Are you jealous of how easy your partner’s band choice was?

Leave a Reply

