Flowers Optional

Since I alluded to it in my previous post about traditions, I thought this might be a good time to share with you my plans for flowers.  Well, sort of.

I don’t plan on carrying a bouquet of cut flowers for numerous reasons, with the two major reasons being budget and the fact that we’re getting married in a garden.  Those two sort of go hand-in-hand, because if we were getting married in a drab space, I would be much more willing to spend money on flowers and decorations for the space.  However, since we’re getting married in such a beautiful space, any additional flowers and decorations would really just be unnecessary.

Image

Just a reminder of our ceremony space via LeeAnn Marie Photography

Though a little aisle decor may happen.  It all depends on if I have time.  I think something like this would do just fine.

Image

Again, our space via Phipps

And so, if a bride doesn’t want to carry cut flowers, what is she to do?  I explored some options:

  • Brooch bouquet
  • Dried flower bouquet, like Mrs. Palm Tree
  • Fan
  • Feathers
  • Candy
  • Pinwheel
  • Button, felt, paper, or other crafty bouquet

There are tons of options, but only one option for a bling-loving bride like me!  That’s right, hands-down, I was sold on the brooch bouquet as soon as I saw it.

I fell in love with images like these:

So gorgeous. via Weddingbells
Fabric flowers AND bling! via Emici Bridal
This one may be just a little too much bling; it looks like it would weigh 10 pounds! via Etsy
This one is a lot of bling but I love the fall colors! via Crazyforus
I love this vintage look, via Pocketful of Dreams

I love the idea of taking some heirloom pieces and weaving them into the bouquet, and I love the idea of being able to keep my bouquet and possibly pass it down to a future daughter if she’d want to use it.  Or maybe she’d  use it for a Halloween costume like how my mom’s dress got reused!

But as much as I love brooch bouquets, the kind I like run for hundreds of dollars.  So I thought, sure, I can DIY it!  I’ll be back later with more details and hopefully a success story with tutorials… but for now, I shall leave you with the beginning of my brooch collection for my bouquet!

20130110_213700

There’s the beginning!  Now we’ll all just have to wait to see how it ends up!

Are you vetoing flowers for budgetary or other reasons?  Did you DIY your bouquet?  Are you using something non-traditional or carrying nothing down the aisle?

2 thoughts on “Flowers Optional

  1. We’re playing with the idea of fake flowers for the ceremony, depending on if they end up being cheaper that way. We’re having a very modern vibe for the reception, so we won’t be using flowers in decorations, so it’d just be the ceremony to worry about.

    Also, I love your brooch bouquet inspirations! I hope it works out for you.

Leave a Reply

