Beeing Fit: Weight Loss

As I alluded to in my previous post, yoga has been helping me shed some extra grad-school pounds before the wedding.  I’ve been saying for awhile, a year maybe, that it was time to get into shape for the wedding.  I had a plan of starting early, being in great shape, and just staying in good shape for the wedding, rather than trying to drop a bunch of weight just before the wedding.  Of course, life got in the way, I started a new more-stressful job, and I had a brutal semester of school that caused me to pretty much live at school and work for the entire fall semester.

By the end of that semester, my stress-and-convenience eating was out of control, and to boot, I had been too busy to make my yoga classes more often than not.  I was a mess, and I felt awful.  I was at my heaviest point of life, which wouldn’t bother me if I wasn’t so out of shape, but I was unnecessarily heavy.

That was pretty much how I felt. Sorry for the awkward toe pic, I don’t like feet. via livescience

I’ve never been one to get caught up on the number on the scale.  I’ve always been muscular (thanks to soccer, softball, cross country, basketball, and cheerleading), so I’ve always judged myself based on how I feel and what that weight looks like in the mirror rather than what the scale tells me.  However, at this point, I was seeing a frightening number on the scale (we’ll just say 20 pounds heavier than where I’d like to be, and a solid 10-15 more than my usual), and an unpleasant picture in the mirror as well.  Monsieur P knows better than to comment on a gal’s weight, and he finds me attractive regardless, but my self-conscious self was pretty sure that he had noticed the extra layers and was hoping I’d get on addressing that as well.

After the semester from hell and the holidays, I told myself it was time to get my booty back in gear, and be that person I’ve been wanting to be.  Of course, life doesn’t really slow down that much, so finding time is still tough, but since January, I’ve stuck to my yoga classes, and pushed myself to get back onto my “diet.”  I say “diet” because I don’t try to think of it that way, and that’s more of a dirty word that I use when I’m talking to other people.  To me, it’s basically just cutting out (most of) the junk, staying on top of my usual healthy eating and exercise, and being disciplined.  It’s also nothing that crazy.  I admire the people with the special diets, like Mrs. Rucksack with her Paleo diet, or other friends with Vegan diets, that work well for them.  But I honestly can’t do the research to get behind something that requires a lot of knowledge.  I know what’s generally healthy and not, though, so a very simple “no crap” diet is what works for me.

There was a period of time in college where I was into bodybuilding, and though I’m not going to say much about this, I’ve tried some different diets, including carb cycling, and I know how my body reacts to and metabolizes certain things.  If you don’t know your body as far as nutrition, I’d highly recommend meeting with a certified nutritionist/dietician to have an evaluation and set up a diet plan.  Okay, done preaching.

So that’s what’s working for me.  I was down 12 pounds before I went to Europe, though I gained some back thanks to the weird schedule and super heavy foods.  Now that I’ve gotten past my jet lag, I’m back on the wagon to keep up my healthier lifestyle.  Because this is about Beeing fit, not just losing weight for the wedding.  I want to be back where I was before grad school, in a better state of physical and mental well-being.  And of course I want to look smokin’ hot in my wedding dress, I mean, who doesn’t!?  But losing 10 pounds won’t be the difference between smokin’ and not-smokin’ in my dress.  FEELING amazing will make all the difference!

Are you adopting a healthier lifestyle that happens to coincide with your wedding?  Did school or work stress cause you to feel unhealthy and blah during your wedding planning?  Do you care more about feeling amazing than looking amazing?

2 thoughts on “Beeing Fit: Weight Loss

  1. I’m the same way! I don’t even own a scale, I just judge based on what clothes fit and how I feel. Once I got engaged, I didn’t go on a diet per-se, I just cut out the crap like pop/soda and second helpings. Since we have a long engagement I definitely don’t need to see results right away, taking it slow and making this lifestyle change should be enough =)

  2. Yep, that’s exactly what I thought as well. It’s been working so far! I might have to kick it up a notch closer to the wedding, but it might be enough to just make a conscious effort without an extreme diet!

Leave a Reply

